My Journey Through Summer Abroad

Screen Shot 2014-06-18 at 9.08.51 AM

Bonjour! I am starting this blog to keep note and give an update on my Study Abroad experience in France and Slovenia.  I will organize each post by day, and let you know what I am doing.To catch you up on what I’ve done so far, I am going to go through day by day and inform you what has been going on

Day 1: Well my journey began flying from Cincinnati, Ohio, to Paris, France.  My flight was at 4pm on June 12th out of Cincinnati, and arrived to Paris at about 6am on June 13th.  This was my first flight over seas, and it was quite an experience.  I met up with two people from my university named Gika and Duane, and we took the same flight to Paris. On the airplane, there was a small tv on the back of each seat, and you were able to pick a movie of your choice to watch.  The movies were recent and actually really good.  When we arrived to Paris, that is when the real journey began.  We needed to get to our hotel, that was about and hour and a half away, but we didn’t know quite how to go about getting there.  I saw a guy sitting on a bench, and had to ask him if he spoke any English, because I don’t know any French.  He knew a small amount, but enough to help us out.  He told us the subway we needed to take and was very nice.  I could go on and on about the obstacles we faced, but to be honest, there is some sort of challenge everywhere we go.  After about 2 hours, while asking a lot of people for help, we finally got in the right direction towards our hotel called Art Hotel, which was really nice. After walking around and getting lunch, we went back to the hotel and took a nap because the traveling really wore us out.  When we woke up, we got on a train and went to the Effile Tower, which was fascinating. I have only seen the effile tower in pictures, so to have it standing right in front of me was quite an experience. Everywhere we go, we ask for help because the subway system is quite confusing, especially because we don’t speak French.  I wish I could give every detail of our journey, but then this blog would just turn into a novel.  What I have noticed here is that everything is more expensive than America, even McDonalds! We later went back to the hotel and went to bed since we were leaving for Toulouse in the morning.

Leave a Reply

